Board of Trustees


Mr. Aroon Raman (Chairman)
Is a businessman – entrepreneur and currently Managing Director of Telos Investments & Technologies Private Limited. He was the Chairman of CII Karnataka State Council for 2010-11 and serves on a number of corporate boards and charitable trusts.










Mr. Sudhakar Rao (Trustee)
Is a retired Indian Administrative Service (IAS) Officer. He has held various positions including Chairman & Managing Director of the Karnataka Urban Infrastructure Development and Finance Corporation (KUIDFC), Principal Secretary, Finance; Principal Secretary, Home; Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister of Karnataka; Development Commissioner and finally, Chief Secretary of Karnataka, from which post he retired from Government service. Mr. Rao was conferred the Kannada Rajyotsava Award, under the public service category by the Government of Karnataka on November 1, 2010.

Dr. A.N. Yellappa Reddy (Trustee)

Has served in the Forest Department, Government of Karnataka for 35 years in various positions. His stint as the Special Secretary, Department of Ecology, Environment & Forests ensured implementation of several landmark programmes related to environmental conservation in Karnataka. He serves on various committees and in governmental and non-governmental organizations and has been closely associated with CMCA since the year 2000.His reputation precedes him and his sincerity and commitment to civic and environmental issues is apparent to all who have had the privilege to interact and work with him. CMCA benefits in no small measure from his expertise and experience.


Dr. Ajai Kumar Singh (Trustee)
Is known for his dynamic leadership. He has held various posts over three-decades of service as an IPS officer such as DGP CoD, Special Units and Economic Offences, DGP Home Guards, Commissioner of Police, Bangalore, Joint Commissioner of Police, Traffic and Security, Bangalore; Commissioner for Traffic and Road Safety. He also served as DIGP Intelligence, DIGP Railways, and Superintendent of Police in Mandya and Shimoga districts and Additional SP in Gulbarga district. Successful investigation into the terror attacks on the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore and initiating people-friendly police reforms are only two amongst his many significant achievements.

Ms. Priya Krishnamurthy (Managing Trustee)

Is one of the co-founder’s of CMCA. She has a background in literature and journalism but discovered her calling in citizenship and democracy.With a deep belief in the innate goodness and potential of an open heart and mind, Priya found that the best place to nurture it is in our young, and joined CMCA as a volunteer in the year 2002.Through the years she has dedicated her time and talent towards designing the curriculum that lies at the heart of CMCA’s interventions. She is fondly called the “architect” of the curriculum and content in CMCA.Today, as CMCA stands strong with a grassroots program in place, she is focussed on enabling the organization to emerge as a leader in advocacy efforts to mainstream education for democratic citizenship and to build a relevant and responsive Resource Center for schools and colleges.


Ms. Vrunda Rao Bhaskar (Trustee)
Is a part of the founding team of CMCA, and has dedicated her life to the CMCA vision and mission, since its conception as a programme and joint initiative of Public Affairs Centre and Swabhimana in the year 2000. Under her leadership, CMCA has forged unique partnerships with local governments and corporate entities, sustained long-term relationships with member schools and volunteers, and has also been instrumental in building a team of passionate and committed full-time staff. Her exemplary ability to lead, inspire and motivate volunteers has made CMCA a shining example of voluntarism.

Ms. Vinodini Lulla(Treasurer, Trustee)
Is the founding coordinator of CMCA Mumbai. Under her leadership, CMCA Mumbai has grown and stabilized, forging sustained and long-term relationships with its member schools. Her association with Public Affairs Centre led her to join CMCA Mumbai as founding coordinator. Inspiring her volunteers with her dedication and tenacity, Vinodini Lulla has motivated her volunteers to ‘own’ the programme and drive CMCA with passion in their schools, embracing their ideas and bringing out their best.

Dr. Manjunath Sadashiva(Trustee)
He was with CMCA since its inception as a joint programmeme of Public Affairs Centre and Swabhimana. It was his conceptualization of the Civic Club model, in association with Ms. Vrunda Bhaskar that set the premise for the launch of CMCA in the year 2000. He has mentored and guided CMCA’s evolution into the organisation it is today. Before becoming Director of CMCA in 2011, Dr. Sadashiva was an advisor to CMCA and also held various positions with other organizations like South Africa based CIVICUS and Bangalore based civil society organizations like Public Affairs Centre, BOSCO, and Samwada etc. He was also visiting faculty at the Institute of Housing & Urban Development Studies, Rotterdam, The Netherlands. Dr. Sadashiva holds a Doctorate in the politics stream and a PG Diploma in Regional Development Planning & Management from the Technical University of Dortmund, Germany, a PG diploma in Urban Management from IHS, Rotterdam and a Master’s degree in Psychology from Bangalore University.


Mr. G. Govardhan (Permanent invitee to the board)
Is the Chairman of Swabhimana, our erstwhile parent organisation. An engineer by qualification, he retired as Additional General Manager, Bharat Electronics Ltd. Dedicating his life to voluntary service, Mr. Govardhan has been a prominent active citizen of Bangalore city and is associated as a member or board member with many NGOs and government agencies. He is a pillar of support for CMCA and his guidance has played a significant role in CMCA’s evolution.

Mr.Ranjit Shahani (Trustee)
He has been on the board of trustees since July 2015.Mr Ranjit Shahani is a mechanical engineer from IIT Kanpur and an MBA from JBIMS,Mumbai.He started his career with ICI in India in their business of fibers and specialty chemicals and later rose to the position of General Manager with ICI/Zeneca in the U.K.This was followed by a period as CEO at Roche Products Limited after which he moved to Novartis India Limited in 1997.Mr Shahani was the president of the Organisation of Pharmaceutical Producers of India till 2013 and is currently the president of the Swiss Indian Chamber of Commerce India.


Mr. Aakash Sethi (Trustee)
He has over 17 years of experience in Education and Youth Development programmes.He has served in leadership roles in organisations like AIESEC,Ambuja Cements,Microsoft and International Youth Foundation where he designed,implemented and monitored multi-stakeholder partnerships.Mr.Aakash has been engaged in developing networks for knowledge creation and policy advocacy in education,corporate resposibility and technology for development.He is the executive Director of Quest Alliance that promotes the use of ICT in schools and vocational training to develop self learning pathways for children and youth.He is an Asia 21 fellow and serves on the board of Science Meets Dharma- a Tibetan not for profit trust promoting science education for Tibetan monks.He has a graduate degree in Economics from St.Xaviers College,Ahmedabad.